top of page
  • Writer's pictureGina Axlund

Preparations in full blow

Less than a month left until my work is shown at the Vallhov Gallery and there's a lot to go through, decide about, and prepare.


First, it’s the never-ending dilemma of which works to show. The space is quite big, and I thought I wouldn’t be able to fill it. But after spending all last evening on the studio floor, sorting prints, and test-framing stuff, I realised I won’t be leaving a single wall empty.

Is this a sign of my inability to self-edit, or just proof that I’ve had a good creative year? I have absolutely no clue! :-D



Then, there’s a million things to prepare: signs, price lists, cards, etc. How to keep the space corona safe, how to save my works on paper from the inevitable summer humidity (the place is an old barn). Not to mention the late nights up hanging the show, as I’m working my regular job during the days.


And then of course we have the self-doubt that will inevitably clap om my shoulder, just about when everything is ready.


You might wonder why I even bother to do this? I don’t even feel comfortable talking about my work or standing there. Well, there’s a certain satisfaction in the idea that my work will be seen by someone else than me. They will get a new meaning for every person that looks at them. Maybe they will make someone feel happy, strong, self-confident, or even sad. And that’s an important think. Art is important. Especially at times like these.


Well, I’d better get back to the studio.

Hope to see you soon!


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page